The Five Solas

The Five Solas are five Latin phrases (or slogans) that emerged from the Protestant Reformation intended to summarize the Reformers' basic theological principles in contrast to certain teachings of the Roman Catholic Church of the day. "Sola" is Latin meaning "alone" or "only".


Sola Scriptura (Scripture Alone)

The Bible is not our only authority but it is our highest and primary authority. When interpreted rightly we see that all the Bible is about Jesus (John 5:39); perfect for transforming us into worshipers (Is. 55:10-13).


Sola Christus (Christ Alone)

Jesus is the perfect revelation of God to humanity (Col. 1:15) our necessary mediator between God and man (1 Tim. 2:5), and it is through Him alone that we are saved (Acts 4:12). It’s all about Jesus, for Jesus, because of Jesus, and by Jesus.


Sola Gratia (Grace Alone)

We are saved by grace alone (Eph. 2:8), not by our own merit or ability but by the extravagant grace provided through the redeeming work of Christ on the cross. We are saved by grace, kept by grace, and preserved by undeserved, unmerited grace.


Sola Fide (Faith Alone)

We are saved by grace through faith (Eph. 2:8-9) and even this is a gift from Christ. "Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. (Heb. 11:1)"


Sola Deo Gloria (Glory to God Alone)

The Glory is God's alone. The glory for saving, the glory for His gift of grace, the glory for His gift of faith––all of it is for His glory. God is not a means to an end for Christians but God is the means and the end. Life is all about Him and we exist to give Him glory and enjoy him forever (1 Cor. 10:31).

Man's chief end is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.